Newton Mayor and City Council Changes Coming Within Two Weeks

Newton’s longest serving Mayor led his last City Council meeting last (Monday)  night. Mayor Mike Hansen was appointed Mayor in November of 2012, after 10 years as a 2nd Ward Councilman. His appointment came after then Mayor Chaz Allen stepped down to lead Jasper County Economic Development Corporation. Hansen was in his third term on the City Council and Allen recommended Hansen be appointed as his replacement. Hansen won his first Mayoral election the following year, in November of 2013..  

Hansen announced on August 21st that he would now seek re-election this year. He was approached about running for City Council back in 2001. As he leaves City government…Hansen says the City is in great hands.

Mayor elect Evelyn George thanked Hansenfor his service to the City.

At the end of last  (Monday) night’s Council meeting…Hansen administered the Oath of Office to new Mayor Evelyn George, returning Ward One Councilman Mark  Hallam, new Third Ward Councilman Stacey Simbro, and new At-Large Councilman Joel Mills. He then acknowledged outgoing Third Ward Councilman Craig Trotter…who’s been a Newton City Councilman since 2012, and departing At-Large Councilman Randy Ervin for his one term. Trotter last night…noted his family’s ties to Newton’s City Council.

The terms of Mayor elect George and the new City Council members officially begin January 1st.