Tonight’s Newton School Board meeting will include one current member leaving the Board of Education and a new person taking that seat. Ann Leonard lost her re-election bid November 5th. She was the 4th highest voter-getter out of the 5 candidates running for 3 seats. Incumbents Josh Cantu and Donna Cook received the most votes respectively with Mark Thayer a close third behind Cook. Cook will start her 5th 4-year term tonight and explains what motivates her to remain on the board.

Election night, after learning he was going to be sitting on the School Board, Thayer said he’s ready to serve.

Thayer noted the resignation of Superintendent Bob Callaghan after this school year, which was  announced about 1 week before the election,  may have played a role in him getting elected.

The current Newton school board will convene at 6:30 tonight in the E.J.H. Beard Administration Center.  After taking care of some business the board will re-organize. Thayer will be sworn in to take Leonard’s seat and a Board President and Vice-President will be elected for the coming year. Robyn Friedman is the current President of the Newton Board of Education.